A Masonic website of the Freemasons, by a Freemason, for the Freemasons whithersoever dispersed. "Sit Lux et Lux Fuit."

Archive for Masonic Organizations

Masonic Youth Organizations


Founded in 1919 by Frank S. Land in Kansas City, Missouri, The Order of DeMolay is a fraternity for young men between the ages of 13 and 21. The name DeMolay is taken from Jacques DeMolay, last Grand Master of the Medieval Knights Templar. The Order of DeMolay teaches leadership and values which make these young men better citizens and better prepared for tomorrow’s challenges. Some DeMolay alumni include: Walt Disney, John Wayne, U.S. president Bill Clinton; newsmen Dan Rather, Walter Cronkite, John Cameron Swayze, Willard Scott and Chet Huntley; entertainers Dick and Tommy Smothers, Buddy Ebsen, Burl Ives; and authors John Steinbeck and William Shirer.


The International Order of Job’s Daughters is one of today’s outstanding character building organizations for young girls, 11 to 20 years of age. Character building, developing self-confidence, and learning leadership qualities as well as social skills are but a few of the qualities that I.O.J.D. teaches.




Masonic Appendant Bodies

  • The York RiteThe York Rite is a concordant body of Freemasonry in which a Master Mason may proceed to supplement or amplify the Craft degrees, affording historical background on the work and meaning of Freemasonry. The York Rite takes its name from the old English city of York. It is said that Athelstan, a British king, was converted to Christianity in York and that he granted the original charter to the Masonic guilds in that city nearly a thousand years ago. Although the York Rite is not a religion in itself, it does develop themes based on the Christian Crusades. In the York Rite, a Master Mason may become a member of three  bodies—a Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, a Council of Royal and Select Masters, and a Commandery of Knights Templar.
  • The Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite – The Scottish Rite is one of two concordant bodies of Freemasonry in which a Master Mason may proceed after he has completed the three degrees of Craft Freemasonry. The Scottish Rite work expands and elaborates on the lessons of the three Craft degrees. As with Freemasonry, the Scottish Rite is not a religion, and it is nondenominational, although it does require a belief in a Supreme Being. The Scottish Rite, sometimes called the “College of Freemasonry”, uses extensive dramatic plays and allegory to emphasize the messages of its degrees. A Freemason, after viewing these dramas, will eventually attain the 32nd Degree in Scottish Rite masonry. To a non-mason this may sound like the member is a high ranking mason, however, this would be a misconception. The highest degree in Freemasonry is the 3rd or Master Mason degree. Degrees as they relate to the Scottish Rite indicate the level of knowledge that a Master Mason has attained. In the Scottish Rite, the 33rd Degree, an honourary degree, is bestowed on members of the Scottish Rite who have given outstanding service to Freemasonry or to their communities. In the Scottish Rite a Master Mason may become a member of three bodies-the Lodge of Perfection, the Rose Croix, and the Consistory.
  • The Royal Order Of ScotlandThe Royal Order of Scotland is an appendant body of the Scottish Rite. Membership in this body is by invitation only. The Order was established in London around 1741.
  • The Ancient Accepted Nobles of the Mystic ShrineMembership in the Shrine is limited to Master Masons. This uniquely North American organization is not, strictly speaking, a masonic body but is closely allied with Freemasonry. Shriners are distinguished by an enjoyment of life in the interest of philanthropy. The approximately 600,000 member organization has a buoyant philosophy which has been expressed as “Pleasure without intemperance, hospitality without rudeness and jollity without coarseness.” The most noticeable symbol of the Shrine is the distinctive red fez that all Shriners wear at official functions. Shriners are men who enjoy life. They enjoy parades, trips, circuses, dances, dinners, sporting events and other social occasions together. Every effort is made to be sure a Shriner has a variety of activities from which he may choose. Furthermore, Shriners support what has become known as the “ World’s Greatest Philanthropy”, Shriners Hospitals for Children. Men from all walks of life and all levels of income find fun, fellowship and relaxation in their individual Shrine Clubs and Units. There are 191 Shrine Temples located in Canada, the United States, Mexico and the Republic of Panama. 
  • The Mystic Order of the Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted Realm (Also known as the Grotto) – The Grotto, a Masonically affiliated fraternal organization, is a social group for Master Masons which was founded in 1889 at Hamilton, New York. It sprang from a series of informal meetings, where Master Masons gathered for relaxation and laughs. There are Grottoes throughout the United States and Canada whose principle charity is the aiding of the cerebral palsy child.
  • The Order of the Eastern Star — The Order of the Eastern Star is the largest fraternal organization, for men and women, in the world. Started in the mid-1800s, today there are over two million members worldwide. Membership in the Eastern Star is open to women who are related to Master Masons. The members of the Eastern Star are dedicated men and women who sincerely reflect the spirit of fraternal love and the desire to work together for good. The moral and social purposes of the order are designed to build character, to promote friendship and harmony among members, and to practice charity.
  • The Order of the Amaranth — The Order of the Amaranth was officially organized June 14th, 1873, in New York City. The Amaranth takes its theme from Queen Christina of Sweden, who in 1653 combined a group of “Sir Knights” and “Ladies” together to have “gala” parties. She called this group the Order of the Amaranth. Today it is one of the few social or fraternal orders that the royal family takes part in. This order meets every other year and holds a ball. It is completely separate from the North American institution of the same name, having no ties to Freemasonry. Under the jurisdiction of the Supreme Council, the Amaranth have 43 Grand Courts, located in Canada, the United States, Australia, England, the Philippines and Scotland; there are also subordinate Courts in Hawaii, New Zealand and Ireland.
  • The Order of the Red Cross of ConstantineThe Order of the Red Cross of Constantine is a concordant body of York Rite masonry. Membership in this body is by invitation only. The order was established in England in 1865.
  • The White Shrine of JerusalemAn invitational order, the Order of the White  Shrine of Jerusalem was incorporated in 1894.
  • The Social Order of the Beauceant
  • The Ancient Egyptian Order of SCIOTS
  • The Tall Cedars of Lebanon
  • National Sojourners
  • High Twelve